Reality check – meet my backpack

I am still trying to decide whether it was a good day or a bad day. It was definitely a reality check looking at my backpack in my hands for the first time! This is what I will carry with me for 120 days.

Travelling, marriage and life in general is much about compromising. Because I am very attached to my things I agreed that travelling with carry-on luggage only would be the best option but now that I am looking at it and see how much I can actually fit in there I am convincing myself this still is the best decision. These are the arguments I repeat to myself:

  • We have several short connections – it’s best that all my (few) things get there than none
  • I won’t be able to pack a lot of weight and that limits an over-packer like me to the bare essentials
  • I still have over 1 month to lay all I plan to take and plenty of time to keep cutting it down until it fits
  • I can renew outfits while on the road
  • I will be totally out of my comfort zone and that is one of my personal goals
  • It could be a lot worse, I went for a bag that is the maximum allowed carry-on size, you should have seen the rest…

And plus after looking at it, I am quite happy with the quality of my Osprey Porter 46: it opens fully on the front and has quite straight lines that help packing, it has padded sides which keep it in shape, it has several pockets inside and additional pockets on the outside. You can also hide the shoulder and hip straps and make it look more like a normal bag. And it adjusts well to my back. 

So wish me luck, I feel I am still in for a few shocks trying to pack it!

Bandeira Portuguesa

Hoje recebi finalmente a minha mochila e ainda estou a decidir se foi ou não um bom dia. É (só) isto que vou levar comigo durante 120 dias.

Viajens, casamento e a vida em geral tem muito a ver com compromisso, com encontrar o meio termo. Como sou bastante agarrada às minhas coisas decidi que viajar apenas com bagagem de cabine seria a melhor opção mas agora que olho para o tamanho da minha decisão começo a ouvir-me a auto convencer-me de que esta foi a melhor decisão. Estes são os meus argumentos:

– temos muitos voos com pouco intervalo e mais vale que cheguem todas as minhas (poucas) coisas ao destino do que nenhumas

– o facto de o espaço ser pequeno também limita o peso que terei de carregar

– ainda tenho mais de um mês para escolher e reduzir (e reduzir) o que pretendo levar

– posso renovar peças enquanto em viagem

– viajar assim põe-me completamente fora da minha zona de conforto e esse é um dos meus objetivos pessoais

– podia ser muito pior, eu escolhi a maior mala de cabine, deviam ver as outras…

E depois de olhar para ela mais um bocado, começo a ficar muito mais contente com a minha Osprey Porter 46: abre completamente à frente e tem linhas direitas que ajudam a arrumar as coisas, tem enchimento lateral para manter a forma e tem várias bolsas por dentro e por fora. Também se podem esconder as alças para se parecer mais com uma mala de viagem normal em vez de uma mochila. E ajusta-se bem nas minhas costas.

Mas tenho um feeling de que ainda tenho uns choques pela frente quando a tentar encher 🙂

3 thoughts on “Reality check – meet my backpack

  1. Elsa and Nuno says:

    Update…

    I, Nuno, after a big internal discussion about the bag decided that the Osprey 46 is a good solution also for me; even though my clothes take more space than Elsa’s, I will not take a blowdryer. 😉 Today I purchased my bag in a different colour, Nitro Green.

    Depois de uma discussão comigo mesmo sobre a mala que devo levar, decidi que a Osprey 46 é uma boa solução também para mim; apesar de a minha roupa ocupar mais espaço que a roupa da Elsa, eu não vou levar o secador. 😉 Hoje comprei a minha mala mas noutra cor, verde “Nitro”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

